top of page

IMPORTANT ADVICE: MAKE SURE YOU DEFINITELY DO STRAIN YOUR HOMEMADE ALMOND MILK

I just had the most disgusting breakfast. It's because I'm lazy. And I was trying to outwit the almond milk making process, which I now know, needs to be respected.

I made almond milk this morning, to have with my granola, bananas and berries. But this time I decided to experiment... And it turned out to be a very, very bad idea.

I couldn't be bothered to squeeze the milk out from the pulp. I thought, since I usually put the pulp into my granola recipe anyway, why don't I just pour it fresh into my cereal?

Well, my advice to you is: do NOT do this.

I ended up with a frothy, warm, curdled-looking, gross-textured mess of a bowl that looked like it had been vomited on by a baby.

So today's lesson:

ALWAYS STRAIN YOUR ALMOND MILK

Oh and make it in advance so it can be refrigerated.

Oh and another lesson I recently learnt the hard way?

DON'T LEAVE YOUR NUTS SOAKING FOR TOO LONG (ESPECIALLY IN WARM WEATHER)

They will turn into a bubbly rancid mess. So don't do it. (I tried making cashew nut milk and accidentally left my cashews soaking for almost 2 days... not in the fridge).

For the benefit of anyone reading I will not be gracing this post with photos!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page