top of page

INTERIOR HORTICULTURE PART 2: FLORALS

I love to have flowers on the table to brighten up the apartment, but they're so bloomin' hard to find without plastic (er, no pun intended)! Unfortunately this is how flowers are sold in Park Slope:

Too much plastic in Park Slope - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Look at all that shiny plastickiness!

There doesn't seem to be a florist nearby selling loose flowers, but it did just so happen to be beautiful spring outside when we first arrived. With no other immediate solutions, I took a walk around the new 'hood and came back with a few freebies that I turned into decorations:

Foraging for florals - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Foraged florals - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

NB: if you're hoping to do the same, make sure you get permission from whoever's tree you're snipping from first!

This wasn't really a long-term option though, particularly as spring turned into summer and most blossom turned into big heavy leaves that won't sit so nicely in a vase.

We've managed to get around the problem a few ways now. Wholefoods in Gowanus has a load of plants in metal, glass and ceramic pots. Some have plastic tags sadly but it's a start:

Jades in Clay from Wholefoods - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Succulents in ceramic in Wholefoods - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Campanula in clay, Wholefoods - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Succulents in glass terrariums - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Succulents in glass terrariums

Roses in metal pots - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

I also got a few lovely plastic-free birthday pressies - my husband got me some aloe vera and my friend managed to grab some roses before the shopkeeper wrapped them!

Home set-up - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

And when I'm walking along in the street, I'll always keep an eye out for snapped-off branches with fresh leaves.

Foraged foliage - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Speaking of leaves and flowers, I bet you're wondering how I decorated my wedding three months ago (see, I just know what you're thinking)! Well, sadly I couldn't do it entirely plastic-free without it being totally bare, especially since it was mid-winter, but I tried to minimise waste by buying flowers in bulk.

Having said that, I did manage to save a load of money and plastic by foraging for most of our foliage. My mum had a large eucalyptus tree that needed to be chopped down, and we walked around our local woods for ivy and other greens.

Thank you eucalyptus for donating yourself to our wedding! - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Wedding foliage foraging - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Winter foraging

Foraged foliage and bought flowers on our wedding day - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Foraged leaves and wedding flowers put together by my very talented mum

We were also very lucky that there had been a wedding at the venue the night before and I caught the florist taking down some of her decorations. I bargained with her and got some beautiful second-hand flowers. Although not totally fresh, they were very pretty, they matched our own flowers and very importantly, they were plastic-free. Small victories, guys, small victories!

Bargained second-hand wedding flowers - Plenty More Plastic in the Sea - Living Plastic-free in NYC

Second-hand wedding flowers

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page