top of page

BROOKLYN'S NEW FAVORITE STORE

A couple of weeks ago I went to the grand opening of a truly great place:

It deserves its own line. It was created by the zero-waste masters Lauren Singer and Daniel Silverstein, who have teamed up to make a beautiful shop containing things that aren't just plastic-free but totally waste-free.

That includes vats of refillables such as castille soap, laundry detergent, natural deodorant and moisturising oil, all surrounded by reusable glass containers and scoops. The shop sells things for every aspect of living naturally and waste-free, including almost everything from sunscreen to shower curtains.

PACKAGE FREE SHOP - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

I wasn't surprised to find the store pretty busy, considering it was its first day. But despite the long line of people waiting to pay for their goodies, Lauren and Daniel were still incredibly friendly and still seemed chilled out (and they must have been knackered after creating the whole shop from scratch!) It was fun to meet them after having followed them on Instagram for a while.

I was taken aback when Lauren asked if I'd like her to remove the label from one of my purchases for me. It turns out, they don't want their customers to have to worry about packaging and how to dispose of it, so they'll do it for you! They're nice like that.

REFILLS AT PACKAGE FREE SHOP - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

Natural bulk deodorant and detergent refills

PACKAGE FREE SHOP - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

Washing up brushes, scrubbers, toothbrushes, carry cases

PLASTIC-FREE FLOSS - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

Silk floss in a tiny glass container, they also sell separate refills

Being in Williamsburg, it was a wee bit of a trek for me, but worth it.

I came home as the proud owner of a stainless steel drinking straw, including a little brush and a carry case (finally got on that bandwagon! Now I can drink my frozen margaritas with ease and glamour rather than slurpy sloppiness), a bar of unpackaged shampoo, a natural Juniperseed Mercantile stain stick for laundry emergencies and a free tote bag for being one of their first customers - win! I would have bought the entire shop if I could have, and I may still do next time I go back. And I will be going back.

MY WINNINGS - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

GIVE A SHIT - PLENTY MORE PLASTIC IN THE SEA

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page