top of page

PLASTIC-FREE: DAY ONE

It's harder than I thought.

But more feel-good than I thought too.

Took a trip to Columbia Road Flower Market and Hackney City Farm today, hoping I could find a cute corner shop selling glass-bottled milk. No such luck and I was surprised at how many of the flowers come wrapped up in film or in plastic pots. I thought they'd at least sell some in those bio 'pots' you sometimes see that look like they're made out of coconut hair. I know this is not the proper name.

I did manage to buy some loose anemone bulbs and a big beautiful hydrangea stem though. I also bought some hand-painted tiles from Milagros (a really cool shop full of all things Mexican, who kindly wrapped them in paper for me), a fresh loaf of bread from Pavilion bakery on Broadway Market (they also sell very tempting looking cardamom rolls, ma fave) and an iced coffee in a paper cup at Lily Vanilli (rather than the plastic ones they were using) with no straw, of course.

BUT I accidentally bought a birthday card and completely failed to notice the plastic cellophane until after I'd bought it. DAMMIT.

Must try harder!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page