top of page

ORGANIC ESSENCE RELENTLESS ALL DAY DEODORANT - LAVENDER: REVIEW

This is one of the beauts I found in Planet Organic. It was exactly what I wanted to make for myself but hadn't worked out where to get the essential oils without plastic lids. This one has lovely compostable card packaging and looks a bit like a Calippo - winning!

REASONS TO AVOID COMMERCIAL BRAND ANTI-PERSPIRANTS

Aluminium

This is used to block sweat glands and stop you from sweating. Firstly, sweating is a natural way of your body releasing toxins, so stopping this process is a bad idea. Secondly, and very importantly, it has been linked to Alzheimer's disease, breast cancer, nerve damage, kidney damage and osteomalacia. So why the hell would you think about going anywhere near the stuff?!

Parabens

These are preservatives used in most cosmetics. There is a suggested link between parabens and breast cancer.

Gelatine

Not great for vegetarians either then.

So off I toddled to try out my new purchase.

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 3RD

Today I'm trying it out for the first time. I'm nervous because I haven't had much luck with natural deodorants in the past and I'm on my way to a full day at the office (it's a warm day and there's no air con). Will it even last me the sweaty tube journey?!

Putting it on was as I expected: a little messy and oily but after rubbing it in, it actually feels nice and moisturising. It smells good too. But with my oily armpits I don't feel like I can wear any of my nice clothes - silk seems to be out of the question! I went for a plain and cheap white t-shirt, it's cotton and has breathable armholes.

After a rush around the house and a 10 minute power walk, I'm on the tube.

Another 10 minute power walk and I'm at work and I have to say, not feeling totally dry!!

But throughout the day, this little trooper has redeemed itself. Coming home after a long day at work and a nerve-wracking driving lesson, I can proudly say that I still smell nice! It's possibly even better than my nasty chemical-based plastic-contained aluminium anti-perspirant that I rely on so heavily.

THURSDAY, AUGUST 4TH

Today I wore my old nasty anti-perspirant. I have realised the Organic Essence works even better. I had to reapply today because I was smelly!

THURSDAY, AUGUST 18TH

Two weeks later and I have not worn my old deodorant once.

The Organic Essence has had its moments, where I have had to do a total wash and re-apply, mid-afternoon. Rather inconvenient but I'm putting that down to my detoxing all those chemicals out (read Wellness Mama's article about armpit detoxing here), and maybe some rogue hormones at a certain time of the month. But overall, I am most pleased with my new deodorant friend, and feel so great about not putting so much rubbish into my body every morning.

PROS

  • It works! Mostly. And for smell, not dryness.

  • It's so so so much better for your body

  • And quite a lot better for the world (the packet has a little picture of a whale on it as a little reminder)

CONS

  • At £8ish it ain't cheap

  • It's oily - maybe not good for special clothes

  • Might not hold up against really active days

  • Harder to come by

  • Doesn't go that far - I've had to apply quite a lot each time and the bar is starting to run out already.

For me though, the pros win by far. I'll be saving up to buy my next one - and when I get time I'll be making my own with my homemade lavender oil - to post soon!

UPDATE:

SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 4TH

After a nasty struggle with brownish oil stains on so many of my nice clothes (word of advice, try to remove oil stains before putting clothes in the wash!) I have realised I was using far too much of this stuff.

It could be down to my body having detoxed now, or the weather being slightly cooler, but I've discovered that I can actually use a tiny fraction of the amount I was using previously and it still works just as well. And really doesn't cause quite the same issues with my clothes! Thank god!!

Plastic-free stain removing techniques to follow... once I've figured it out.

bottom of page